Samara — the city in the Middle Volga of Russia, the center of the Volga economic region and the district of Samara, large economic, transport, scientific and educational, and cultural center of the country.

On December 6, 1850, Emperor Nicholas I issued a Decree to the Senate on the establishment of the Samara province, the center of which was Samara with a population of 15,000 inhabitants. By the end of the 19th century, the population of Samara has reached 90 thousand people. At present Samara is ranked 9th in terms of population in Russia, more than 1 150 000 people live there (2018).

Since 1935 till 1991 the city was named after Kuybyshev in honor of the soviet party and government official Valerian Kuybyshev. January 25th, 1991, by decree of the Presidium of the Supreme Council of the RSFSR the historic name Samara was returned to the city.

In the middle of the 20th century the Samara Province was the first in the Russian Empire in the amount of wheat collected. Active trade in colonial, manufactory and other goods was conducted. Weekly, bazaars were held in two squares, and during the year three major fairs were held, where they traded mainly in grain, lard, wool, horses, leather, cattle and camel cloth.

It was due to its geographical location — Samara is located on the left bank of one of the largest Rivers of the Russian Federation — the Volga River, between the mouths of its tributaries, the Samara and the Sok Rivers. Large forests are located in the basin of the Upper Volga, in the Middle and partly in the Lower Volga Region; large areas are occupied by crops and industrial crops. In the Volga-Ural Region there are rich deposits of oil and gas. Near Solikamsk there are large deposits of potassium salts. In the Lower Volga Region (Lake Baskunchak, Elton) — salt. About 70 species of fish inhabit the Volga River, 40 of which are commercial.

In the figurative perception of the Russian people, the Volga River plays an exceptional and central role. This is the root and core of the Russian people, a figurative ideal. It is always animated and human qualities are attributed to it. Soviet art made full use of the image of the Volga River, created by the art of pre-revolutionary Russia. The Volga River is identified with the Motherland and is a symbol of freedom, spaciousness, breadth and greatness of the spirit of the Soviet person. The central role in building this image was played by the film “Volga, Volga” made by Grigory Alexandrov and the song performed by Lyudmila Zykina “The River Volga Flows”. In the 19th and early 20th centuries, life and work of such “popular” representatives of culture as Nikolai Nekrasov, Maxim Gorky, Fedor Shalyapin are connected with the Volga.

Samara is a multy-confessional city. There are many orthodox churches here, old believer churches, catholic, protestant and armenian churches, prayer houses of pentecostalists and baptists, mosques, jewish choral synagogue.

Samara is a wonderful city that combines a wide variety of architectural styles. The central part of the city, which used to be considered the edge, is decorated with Pokrovsky Cathedral. The cathedral was built in 1861 at the expense of merchants Shikhobalov. The building is designed in the style of Moscow stone architecture, the walls inside are painted with frescoes in Italian manner. The interior of the church is decorated with artificial marble.

One of the first buildings designed in this architectural style in Samara was the house of the beginning of the 20th century, constructed by order of the merchant A.G. Kurlin for his wife. Since the 1970s the museum of local lore was located. After reconstruction of 2008-2012 there is an Art Nouveau-style Museum there, that has become one of the most popular galleries in the city. Another art nouveau building, adorning the cityscape, is the house with elephants. It was constructed in 1909 on a joint project of architect V.V. Tepfer and K.P. Golovkina, who was artist, patron of the arts, merchant, and the customer for the building. The house is designed with an allusion to the Viennese style, which is untypical for provincial town planning in Russia of the early 20th century.

At the territory of the merchant’s house owned by I.A. Te-Clodt, there is children’s art gallery. This building is an architectural monument of the 20th century. The exhibition started to work in 1990 and it was specially prepared for young visitors. Here there are exhibited works of children, students and graduates of art schools as well as paintings by professional artists. For a relatively short history of its existence the museum has organised a large number of international vernissages.

Samara has one of the longest river embankments in Russia. The oldest park in Samara, the Strukovsky Garden, is located on the banks of the Volga. Earlier, on the territory closely adjacent to the embankment, there was a forest that belonged to the manager of the Iletsk salt industry G.N. Strukov, the actual State Councilor who built the estate here and set up the garden.

In Samara there is the biggest square in Europe — Kuybyshev square, ranking 7th largest in the world.

During the Great Patriotic War in July-October 1941, some enterprises were evacuated from the western regions of the country to the city. The city made a significant contribution to the victory over Nazi Germany. Production of weapons and ammunition was started. During the war years, about 28 thousand Il-2 and Il-10 attack aircraft were produced at Kuibyshev Aviation Plants No. 1 and No. 18 — about 80% of their total. In the days of the defense of the Caucasus, the city provided the army and national economy with fuel.

High relief “Grieving Mother-Motherland” — eternal flame of the monument was lit on September 5, 1971 — in the year of the thirtieth anniversary of the beginning of the Great Patriotic War in memory of 225 thousand natives of Kuibyshev and Kuibyshev region dead on the battlefield. Monument of Glory — one of the main symbols of the city, was opened in 1971. It is a 13-meter figure of a worker holding wings in raised hands on a 40-meter pedestal. The monument symbolizes the contribution of Samara residents to the creation of the country’s aviation industry.

There are lots of nominal monuments, large and small sculptural forms, monuments and memorials in the city: monuments to V. Chapaev and V. Kuibyshev, Worship cross to Cyril and Methodius, Stela “Ladya” which was set in honor of the 400th anniversary of Samara’s formation, and also the memorial complex of “Soyuz” launcher, installed in honor of the 40th anniversary of the first manned spaceflight.

After the war, the city became the largest industrial and cultural center of the USSR. It has created a powerful potential of the aviation (and since 1958 space), machine-building, metallurgical, electrical, cable, oil refining and light industry. More than 150 large and medium industrial enterprises work in the city.

Among the most famous enterprises of Samara are the following: Plant named after A.M. Tarasov, “Aviaagregat” JSC, “Progress Rocket and Space Center” JSC, “Aviacor Aviation Plant” JSC, “Start” JSC, “Kuznetsov” PJSC, “Alkoa (Samara Metallurgical Plant)” CJSC.

The city is one of the largest transport hubs in Russia, through which the shortest routes from Europe to Siberia and Central Asia run. The new airport “Kurumoch” only in 2018 served more than 3 million passengers.

Today’s Samara railway station is the highest station building in Europe, has a viewing platform — a large balcony around the dome of the station complex, located at a 95-meter height, which is equivalent to the level of the 18th floor.

Samara River Port is the largest transport hub in the Middle Volga region of Russia. The geographical location of the port, bordering on a developed system of railways and highways, allows for cost-effective transport links with the Urals, Siberia, Central Asia, areas of the Center and the North of the European part of Russia. The port also has outlets in the Volga-Kama and Volga-Don basins, the Baltic, White, Azov, Black, Caspian, and Mediterranean seas.

Residents and visitors are always welcomed to the Samara Academic Drama Theater named after M. Gorky, the Samara Academic Opera and Ballet Theater, the Samara State Philharmonic, the Samara Theater-center of the young spectator “SamArt”, the Samara State Circus named after Oleg Popov and other stage areas.

Museums of the city, which are more than 20, also represent their expositions. Among them: Samara Art Museum (pieces of art by I.K. Aivazovsky, K.P. Bryullov, I.E. Repin, V.I. Surikov, I.I. Shishkin, A.I. Kuindzhi, I.I. Levitan, V.A. Serov, K.A. Korovin, K.S. Malevich and O.V. Rozanova), Samara Regional History Museum named after P.V. Alabin, the Stalin’s Bunker (bomb shelter command post, established in 1942 as a backup location for the headquarters of the Supreme Commander of the USSR Armed Forces I.V. Stalin), zoological museum named after D.N. Frolov and many others.

International festivals and social events are constantly held on the territory of Samara — Samara Assembly, International Festival of Arts “Samara’s autumn”, Rock-festivals “Kacheli” and “Rock under Volga”, International Festival “Movies for children”, Samara Carnival.

Samara region in sports is one of the leading in the Russian Federation, preparing the champions of the Olympic Games, the world, and Europe. In 2018, Samara hosted the matches of the World Cup. A new football stadium “Samara Arena” has been built in the city for 44,918 seats. Russia’s first public exposition of football — the “Museum of Samara Football”. Exposition include cups, posters, pennants, soccer balls autographed by Pele, Lev Yashin, Guus Hidding, Dick Advocaat, Oleg Blokhin, many personal belongings of Viktor Karpov and Galimzyan Husainov, Matthew Booth, Jan Koller, and many other famous football players.

Samara is one of the main scientific centers of the country in the space and aviation fields. But, in addition to this, the city is known for its research institutes working for the benefit of various sectors of the national economy. The coordination of their activities is entrusted to the Samara Scientific Center of the Russian Academy of Sciences. Among the major scientific institutions, it should be noted Samara branch of P.N. Lebedev Physical Institute, Institute of Problems of Complex Systems Management, Samara Research Institute of Agriculture named after P.N. Konstantinov, Institute of Machines Acoustics, Institute of Geology and the development of combustible minerals, others.

There are more than 35 higher educational institutions in Samara. The largest Samara state universities are: socio-pedagogical, economic, technical, transport, the National University named after academician S.P. Korolev, and, of course, medical university.

The structure of the medical university, founded exactly 100 years ago, currently includes 10 faculties and more than 80 departments, and own clinics, 3 educational and 5 research institutes, research laboratory, scientific medical library (fund of over 600 thousand volumes). The University is especially proud of the Institute for Innovative Development, which unites the Center for Breakthrough Research “Information Technologies in Medicine” and Scientific and Industrial Technopark.

The university successfully operates 6 dissertation councils in 13 specialties. Training of scientific personnel in postgraduate and Ph.D. studies is carried out in 38 specialties. Annually up to 8,000 students study at the university.

Самара — город в Среднем Поволжье России, центр Поволжского экономического района и Самарской области, является крупным экономическим, транспортным, научно-образовательным и культурным центром страны.

6 декабря 1850 года император Николай I издал Указ Правительствующему Сенату о создании Самарской губернии, центром которой стала Самара с населением в 15 тысяч жителей, а уже к концу XIX века население Самары достигло 90 тысяч человек. В настоящее время Самара занимает 9-е место по численности населения в России, в нём проживает более 1 150 000 человек (2018).

С 1935 по 1991 год город носил название Куйбышев в честь советского партийного и государственного деятеля Валериана Владимировича Куйбышева. 25 января 1991 года указом Президиума Верховного Совета РСФСР городу было возвращено историческое название Самара.

В середине XIX века Самарская губерния стояла на первом месте в Российской империи по количеству собираемой пшеницы. Велась активная торговля колониальными, мануфактурными и прочими товарами. Еженедельно на двух площадях проводились базары, а в течение года проходили три крупные ярмарки, на которых торговали, преимущественно, зерном, салом, шерстью, лошадьми, кожами, скотом, верблюжьим сукном.

Это было обусловлено в первую очередь географическим расположением города — он находится на левом берегу одной из крупнейших рек Российской Федерации — Волги, между устьями ее притоков, рек Самара и Сок. В бассейне верхней Волги расположены крупные лесные массивы, в Среднем и частично в Нижнем Поволжье большие площади заняты посевами зерновых и технических культур. В Волго-Уральском районе — богатые месторождения нефти и газа. Близ Соликамска — крупные залежи калийных солей. В Нижнем Поволжье (озеро Баскунчак, Эльтон) — поваренная соль. В Волге обитает около 70 видов рыб, из них 40 промысловых.

В образном восприятии русского народа река Волга играет исключительную и центральную роль. Это корень и стержень русских людей, образный идеал. Она всегда одушевлена, ей приписываются человеческие качества. Советское искусство в полной мере использовало образ Волги, созданный искусством дореволюционной России. Волга отождествляется с Родиной-матерью, она является символом свободы, простора, широты и величия духа советского человека. Центральную роль в построении этого образа сыграли фильм, снятый Григорием Александровым «Волга, Волга» и песня, исполняемая Людмилой Зыкиной «Течёт река Волга». Также в XIX и начале XX веков с Волгой связана жизнь и творчество таких «народных» представителей культуры, как Николай Некрасов, Максим Горький, Федор Шаляпин.

Самара является многоконфессиональным городом, здесь расположено множество православных церквей, старообрядческие церкви, католические, протестантские и армянский храмы, молитвенные дома пятидесятников и баптистов, мечети, еврейская хоральная синагога.

Самара — удивительный город, объединяющий в своем облике самые разнообразные архитектурные стили. Центральную часть города, которая еще в начале XIX столетия считалась окраиной, украшает Покровский кафедральный собор. Собор был построен в 1861 году на средства купцов Шихобаловых. Здание выдержано в стиле московского каменного зодчества, внутри стены расписаны фресками в итальянской манере. Интерьер церкви отделан искусственным мрамором.

Дом начала XX века в стиле модерн, построенный по заказу купца А.Г. Курлина для его супруги, стал одним из первых зданий в Самаре, возведенных в этой архитектурной манере. С 1970-х годов на его территории располагался краеведческий музей. После реконструкции 2008–2012 годов в особняке находится Музей модерна, ставший одной из самых популярных галерей в городе. Еще одно сооружение в стиле модерн, украшающее городской пейзаж, дом со слонами. Он был возведен в 1909 году по совместному проекту архитектора В.В. Тепфера и К.П. Головкина — художника, мецената и купца, который и выступил заказчиком здания. Особняк выполнен с отсылкой к стилю венского сецессиона, что является довольно нетипичным для провинциального градостроительства в России начала XX века.

На территории купеческого особняка, принадлежавшего И.А. Те-Клодту, находится детская картинная галерея. Этот дом является архитектурным памятником XIX века. Выставка заработала в 1990 году, она была специально создана для юных зрителей. Здесь выставляются работы детей, студентов и выпускников художественных училищ, также имеются картины профессиональных живописцев. За относительно недолгую историю своего существования музей принял большое количество международных вернисажей.

В Самаре одна из самых длинных в России речных набережных. На берегу Волги расположен старейший парк Самары — Струковский сад. Ранее на территории, вплотную примыкающей к набережной, располагался лесной массив, принадлежавший управляющему Илецкими соляными промыслами Г.Н. Струкову, действительному статскому советнику, который построил здесь усадьбу и разбил сад.

В Самаре также находится крупнейшая площадь Европы — Площадь Куйбышева, занимающая 7-е место по величине в мире.

Во время Великой Отечественной войны в июле — октябре 1941 года в город были эвакуированы некоторые предприятия из западных регионов страны. Город внёс значительный вклад в победу над нацистской Германией. Было начато производство оружия и боеприпасов. За годы войны на куйбышевских авиационных заводах № 1 и № 18 выпущено около 28 тысяч штурмовиков Ил-2 и Ил-10 — около 80% от их общего количества. В дни обороны Кавказа город обеспечивал армию и народное хозяйство горючим.

Горельеф «Скорбящей Матери-Родине» — вечный огонь монумента был зажжён 5 сентября 1971 года — в год тридцатилетия начала Великой Отечественной войны в память о 225 тысячах уроженцах Куйбышева и Куйбышевской области, павших на полях сражений. Монумент Славы — один из главных символов города, открыт также в 1971 году. На 40-метровом пьедестале — 13-метровая фигура рабочего, держащего в поднятых руках крылья: памятник символизирует собой вклад самарцев в создание авиационной промышленности страны.

В городе расположено большое количество именных памятников, больших и малых скульптурных форм, монументов и мемориалов: памятники Василию Чапаеву и Валериану Куйбышеву, Поклонный крест Кириллу и Мефодию, Стела «Ладья», установленная в честь 400-летия образования Самары, а также Памятный комплекс ракеты-носителя «Союз», который был установлен в честь 40-летия первого полёта человека в космос.

После войны город стал крупнейшим промышленным и культурным центром СССР. Здесь создан мощный потенциал авиационной (а с 1958 года космической), машиностроительной, металлургической, электротехнической, кабельной, нефтеперерабатывающей и лёгкой промышленности. В городе работают более 150 крупных и средних промышленных предприятий.

Самара является крупным центром машиностроения и металлообработки, пищевой, а также космической и авиационной промышленности. В городе работают более 150 крупных и средних промышленных предприятий. Среди наиболее известных предприятий Самары, следующие: Завод имени А.М. Тарасова, ОАО «Авиаагрегат», АО «Ракетно-космический центр «Прогресс», ОАО «Авиакор-авиационный завод», ОАО «Старт», ПАО «Кузнецов», ЗАО «АЛКОА (Самарский металлургический завод».

Город является одним из крупнейших в России транспортных узлов, через который пролегают кратчайшие пути из Европы в Сибирь и Среднюю Азию. Новый аэропорт «Курумоч» только за 2018 год обслужил более 3 миллионов пассажиров.

Сегодняшний железнодорожный вокзал станции Самара является самым высоким зданием вокзала в Европе, имеет смотровую площадку — большой балкон вокруг купола вокзального комплекса, находящийся на 95-метровой высоте, что равнозначно уровню 18-го этажа.

Самарский речной порт — крупнейший транспортный узел в Среднем Поволжье России. Географическое положение порта, граничащее с развитой системой железных дорог и автомагистралей, позволяет обеспечить экономически выгодные транспортные связи с Уралом, Сибирью, Средней Азией, районами Центра и Севера европейской части России. Порт также имеет выходы в зоны Волго-Камского и Волго-Донского бассейнов, Балтийского, Белого, Азовского, Чёрного, Каспийского, Средиземного морей.

Для жителей Самары и гостей города постоянно открыты двери Самарского академического театра драмы имени М. Горького, Самарского академического театра оперы и балета, Самарской государственной филармонии, Самарского Театра-центра юного зрителя «СамАрт», Самарского государственного цирка именги Олега Попова и другие сценические площадки.

Свои экспозиции представляют и музей города, которых более 20, среди них: Самарский художественный музей (произведения мэтров российского искусства И.К. Айвазовского, К.П. Брюллова, И.Е. Репина, В.И. Сурикова, И.И. Шишкина, А.И. Куинджи, И.И. Левитана, В.А. Серова, К.А. Коровина, К.С. Малевича и О.В. Розановой), Самарский областной историко-краеведческий музей, бункер И.В. Сталина (командный пункт-бомбоубежище, созданный в 1942 году в качестве резервного местонахождения ставки Верховного Главнокомандующего Вооружёнными силами СССР И.В. Сталина), зоологический музей имени Д.Н. Фролова и многие другие.

На территории Самары постоянно проходят международные фестивали и общественные мероприятия — Самарская ассамблея, Международный фестиваль искусств «Самарская осень», Рок-фестивали «Ка4ели» и «Рок над Волгой», Международный фестиваль «Кино детям», Самарский карнавал.

Самарская область в спорте — одна из ведущих в Российской Федерации, готовящая чемпионов Олимпийских Игр, мира, Европы. В 2018 году Самара приняла матчи чемпионата мира по футболу. В городе построен новый футбольный стадион «Самара Арена», рассчитанный на 44918 зрительских мест. Первая в России общественная экспозиция футбола — «Музей Самарского футбола», среди экспозиций которого кубки, афиши, вымпелы, футбольные мячи с автографами Пеле, Льва Яшина, Гуса Хиддинга, Дика Адвоката, Олега Блохина, многие личные вещи Виктора Карпова и Галимзяна Хусаинова, Мэттью Бута, Яна Коллера, и многих других знаменитых футболистов.

Самара является одним из главных научных центров страны в космической и авиационной областях. Но, помимо этого, город известен своими научно-исследовательскими институтами, работающими на благо различных отраслей народного хозяйства. Координация их деятельности возложена на Самарский научный центр Российской Академии наук. Среди крупных научных учреждений необходимо отметить Самарский филиал Физического института имени П.Н. Лебедева, Институт проблем управления сложными системами, Самарский НИИ сельского хозяйства имени П.Н. Константинова, Институт акустики машин, Институт геологии и разработки горючих ископаемых, другие.

В Самаре насчитывается более 35 высших учебных заведений. Крупнейшие Самарские государственные университеты — социально-педагогический, экономический, технический, путей сообщения, национальный университет имени академика С.П. Королёва, и, безусловно, медицинский.

В структуру последнего, основанного ровно 100 лет назад, в настоящее время входят 10 факультетов и более 80 кафедр, собственные клиники, 3 образовательных и 5 научно-исследовательских институтов, научно-исследовательская лаборатория, научная медицинская библиотека (фонд свыше 600 тыс. томов). Особой гордостью Университета является Институт инновационного развития, объединяющий Центр прорывных исследований «Информационные технологии в медицине» и Научно-производственный технопарк.

В университете успешно работают 6 диссертационных советов по 13 специальностям. Подготовка научных кадров в аспирантуре и докторантуре проводится по 38 специальностям. Ежегодно в университете обучаются до 8000 студентов.